Building a PC?

Geek spoken here
Notorious

Building a PC?

Post by Notorious »

I've been contemplating on building a PC as I heard it's generally cheaper and obviously more customized to fit your wants. It also helps in knowing exactly what parts you want. My question concerns the difficulty of being able to do such a thing. I have a decent amount of computer knowledge but certainly nothing over the top. I'm just curious if it's possible for an amateur to do or is it reserved for more of the hardcore computer people.
Never Underestimate The Fart Of A Monarch
pattywannamack

Re: Building a PC?

Post by pattywannamack »

I built a computer when I was a freshman, and it is quite possibly one of the most cost efficient ways to go about having a computer. Not only does it cost less than most prebuilts, but you often get better performance, as the OS isn't boggled down with all of the bloatware and proprietary settings that prebuilts have. I am not going to lie, it took me a little while to get my first computer working, but then again all of the trouble shooting and research that I had to do in order to fix the problem immensely improved my knowledge in computers, and how they work.

With all of the online guides, and the tons of videos on youtube showing how to build a computer, it should be pretty easy to build one for yourself. The only tools that you need are a screwdriver, some common sense, and the capacity to follow directions, and you're good to go. The actual assembling of the computer isn't too difficult, as it only takes a few hours. The biggest challenge is finding the most cost efficient parts, and making sure everything is compatible with one another. If you need any help with that aspect please feel free to private message me, or just ask in this thread and I will help you, it takes a little while to figure it all out if you are starting from ground zero.