Balls and strikes called electronically?

Charles

Balls and strikes called electronically?

Post by Charles » Wed Oct 05, 2011 8:14 pm

Would you support it? Eliminate the umpire (just for balls and strikes)? I would - assuming it is essentially flawless which it can probably be made to be.

Zebra

Re: Balls and strikes called electronically?

Post by Zebra » Wed Oct 05, 2011 8:29 pm

Charles wrote:Would you support it? Eliminate the umpire (just for balls and strikes)? I would - assuming it is essentially flawless which it can probably be made to be.
No .. I'm an umpire, I need the work. :2cents:
Coach, you can call me a S.O.B. all you want. Just don't call me a little S.O.B. [-X

Charles

Post by Charles » Thu Oct 06, 2011 5:34 am

Zebra wrote:
No .. I'm an umpire, I need the work. :2cents:
Yes, I'm an electronics engineer. I need the work.

oceanvue

Post by oceanvue » Thu Oct 06, 2011 5:38 am

only if they allow the teams to use mechanical batters
Last edited by oceanvue on Thu Oct 06, 2011 6:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

~44~

Post by ~44~ » Thu Oct 06, 2011 5:57 am

I'm all for it. Works flawlessly for tennis.
Hi

Charles

Post by Charles » Thu Oct 06, 2011 5:59 am

oceanvue wrote:only if they allow the teams use mechanical batters
Swim meets are timed electronically. What's the difference? Why not take advantage of technology? Umpires would still be present for things that it is impossible to do electronically and the game would still be played by human players. Right now, there is inconsistency with human calls of balls and strikes. Umpires can get rattled and influenced. Their perspective may vary over the course of a game.

MDDad

Post by MDDad » Thu Oct 06, 2011 8:22 am

~44~ wrote:I'm all for it. Works flawlessly for tennis.